Easley’s Hangar – The Taranis

I am often asked for fitting advice on the Gallente, Minmatar and Angel hulls that I frequently fly. With the other races, I can offer general suggestions and build something useful in EFT, but there is no substitute for personal experience in my opinion.

The first ship I wanted to discuss is one of my favorites, the Taranis. Though I flew these far more commonly in the past, I still occasionally get into an enjoyable fight with what I consider to be the king of all combat ‘ceptors.

What makes the Taranis a great ship?

1) High structure buffer. When your best resists all come from the 60% granted by a Damage Control II, having a big structure buffer is a no-brainer. I will go so far as to say that ANY Taranis fit without a DC2 is deeply flawed.

2) Drones! Two of them! The ability to deploy two drones is a huge advantage over other interceptors.  I almost always go with T2 warriors but I wouldn’t call anyone out for packing EC-300’s.

3) Blasters? This is a mixed blessing. Blasters DO have the highest dps at optimal, but the range is simply inferior to Autos or Pulses. A blaster ranis has solo options that include cruiser-hulls and occasionally larger ships that other ‘ceptors would struggle to bring down before running out of ammunition or being worn-down themselves.

4) Sufficient slots to achieve the goals of a combat ‘ceptor. While a 2-mid interceptor can tackle and deal damage, the lack of either an afterburner or web will prevent that ship from dictating range against another combat ‘ceptor. The Taranis can fit top-tier light blasters (T2 Neutron) and dual-propulsion with only a T1 MAPC.

Winning By A Hair - Very Typical For A 'Ranis Pilot

Let’s talk about fits now:

Blaster Fit #1 – Blaster Duelist (anti-inty: improved speed & dual-propulsion)

Micro Auxiliary Power Core I
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II
Damage Control II

1MN Afterburner II
Catalyzed Cold-Gas I Arcjet Thrusters
Faint Epsilon Warp Scrambler I

Light Neutron Blaster II, Caldari Navy Antimatter Charge S
Light Neutron Blaster II, Caldari Navy Antimatter Charge S
Light Neutron Blaster II, Caldari Navy Antimatter Charge S
[empty high slot]

Small Polycarbon Engine Housing I
Small Auxiliary Thrusters I

Warrior II x2

Blaster Fit #2 – Blaster Soloist (more flexible engagement options)

Small Armor Repairer II
Micro Auxiliary Power Core I
Damage Control II

1MN Afterburner II
Catalyzed Cold-Gas I Arcjet Thrusters
Faint Epsilon Warp Scrambler I

Light Neutron Blaster II, Caldari Navy Antimatter Charge S
Light Neutron Blaster II, Caldari Navy Antimatter Charge S
Light Ion Blaster II, Caldari Navy Antimatter Charge S
Small Diminishing Power System Drain I

Small Ancillary Current Router I
Small Ancillary Current Router I

Warrior II x2

Rail Fit #1 – Railgun Duelist (anti-inty: good range + dual-prop)

Micro Auxiliary Power Core I
Damage Control II
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II

1MN Afterburner II
1MN MicroWarpdrive II
Faint Epsilon Warp Scrambler I

125mm Railgun II, Caldari Navy Antimatter Charge S
125mm Railgun II, Caldari Navy Antimatter Charge S
125mm Railgun II, Caldari Navy Antimatter Charge S
[empty high slot]

Small Hybrid Collision Accelerator I
Small Hybrid Collision Accelerator I

Warrior II x2

Rail Fit #2 – Traditional Interceptor Build

Damage Control II
Overdrive Injector System II
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II

Warp Disruptor II
1MN MicroWarpdrive II
Sensor Booster II

125mm Railgun II, Spike S
125mm Railgun II, Spike S
125mm Railgun II, Spike S
[empty high slot]

Small Auxiliary Thrusters I
Small Polycarbon Engine Housing I

Warrior II x2

2 Responses to “Easley’s Hangar – The Taranis”

  1. Before anyone says it, Null S is often far more useful than faction antimatter, but it’s important to carry both.

  2. So, I just wanted to let you know Null is more useful than faction… oh wait nvm

Leave a Reply

