WTF Battle Clinic?

This last weekend was fairly eventful for me in terms of online gaming. I had some extra time on my hands, so I finished upgrading my T34 in World of Tanks, and I also spent some time soloing in Curse.

It has been a really good couple of weeks for large gangs, with 3 super kills and  lots of high-value sub-cap kills on roams:

However, solo play is completely unlike gang roams or large fleet fights. While I enjoy all 3 forms of PvP, solo play is what motivates me to log-in most days.

I had  several notable solo fights this weekend. In one case, I was able to beat a Hurricane and Thorax in my Drake, before narrowly escaping a Mach that warped in late.

It was a great rush when I prevailed in the end with ‘nary a single point of shield remaining.

I also had a number of frigate duels. Some were arranged, and some spontaneous.

Assault ships are FOTM, but you still see garden variety Sabres all over the place. The destroyer buff has also motivated some people to dust off their Thrashers and Catalysts.

One small ship fight in particular really amused me. I killed a Russian Sabre who was camping a gate in my Wolf. However, he had explosive ammo loaded, and was able to get me into structure before he died. Worse yet, the rats had started firing on us during the duel.

Since the bubble was still up, and rats were on the gate, I actually died to Angel rats before I could get out of the bubble to. I had a good laugh at this, at least initially.

Despite the fact that we both died, I expected to actually come out slightly ahead on Battle Clinic due to the fact that a Sabre is a larger t2 ship than a Wolf.

Then I looked it up and – to my horror – I lost 83 fucking points for dieing to the Sabre, while he only lost 5. How in the world is an Assault Ship worth so many points compared to a t2 destroyer?

For reference, 83 points is a large amount. It’s like 4 solo kills against someone in an equal ship. 83 loss points is something like an 8% increase in my LIFETIME loss points, from one duel. To me, this felt like a huge blow.

Although mad, I wasn’t done for the night. I re-shipped into my own Sabre, and then as if the universe was apologizing for the illogical point loss on BC, I was rewarded with a Wolf target.

I killed the Wolf in my Sabre, and this time I managed not to die to rats on the way home.

So, did I get 83 points in return?

Nope. 16 points.

What the fuck, Battle Clinic? What. The. Fuck.

If it were any other kill-board I wouldn’t care, but BC is really the standard solo pilots use to judge each other, and this loss really feels unfairly scored.

6 Responses to “WTF Battle Clinic?”

  1. Its because from battleclinics pov you got killed by a pod. Its not intelligent enough to work out the guy in the sabre you just killed and the pod on your mail are the same. Same thing would have happened if he’d managed to get back on grid in a BS before you died to rats except you would have lost barely any points

    • Thank you this finally makes sense now.

      • Yeah I had the same situation when I engaged a Drake with a Navy Aug for fun.. There were plex rats and it end up with him in low structure as I just popped and he lost his ship soon after.

        I ended up with 250+ points..

  2. Wow, you are brave using an AB 400 plate wolf in null. Personally I go with a MWD 200 plate and SAR fit. It can kill bad Sabres easily. Never tried it VS a dual MSE Sabre.

    This is the fit:

    [Wolf, tawa wolf]
    Pseudoelectron Containment Field I
    200mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I
    Gyrostabilizer II
    Tracking Enhancer II
    Small Armor Repairer II

    Limited 1MN MicroWarpdrive I
    J5b Phased Prototype Warp Scrambler I

    200mm AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP S
    200mm AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP S
    200mm AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP S
    200mm AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP S
    Small Unstable Power Fluctuator I

    Small Projectile Burst Aerator II
    Small Projectile Ambit Extension I

    • For what it’s worth, the duel was over very quickly. I doubt I would have repped more than 5-6 cycles, which makes a bigger plate more valuable.

      He only got close to killing me because he had explosive ammo loaded from the beginning.

  3. I think the admin of this web page is genuinely working hard for his web site, for
    the reason that here every data is quality based information.

Leave a Reply

